Art Bozeman

For artists and art fans in Bozeman and beyond

Anne Menge, Bozeman artist

5 Comments

Anne Menge just graduated from MSU with a Bachelor of Fine Arts with an emphasis in painting (and a minor in Psychology). Originally from Billings, she plans to pursue a MA in Art Therapy and a Master of Fine Arts with an interest in glass blowing and metalsmithing in the future at an out-of-state university.

I am primarily an oil painter and in recent years, I have switched to painting on much larger canvases. I enjoy painting the figure and also have a lot of fun with abstract imagery. My technique is always using thick and juicy impasto strokes and I have recently moved beyond the limitations of the brush and palette knife to literally squeezing my mixed paint onto the canvas in various ways. I work with huge mounds of paint on my palette (often 5 and 6 cups of paint at a time) and this is one of the most delightful things I think an oil painter can experience. Oils have a saturation that is unparalleled by any other medium and their creamy consistency only adds to the wonderful sensation.

Also, I have developed my own abstract process of using various types of thick textures, then overlaying them with very thin paint. As the thin paint drips down my paintings it tends to follow the contours of my textures. Finally, I always bring my hand back into the equation by adding finishing touches, often finding interesting shapes in the drip and accentuating them.

See the Bozeman artists page for Anne’s contact information.

5 thoughts on “Anne Menge, Bozeman artist

  1. Very cool! Some great skills there and I love looking at your abstract piece on this webiste, you can see something different each time. Now I look at it again and it looks like a very old topographical map. Great work!

  2. Wow, I would love to see more. I can only imagine what this may look like, with the textures and all, in a side view. Both paintings are so very different yet have a similiar uniqueness about them.

  3. Anne, your paintings are just great – also your descriptions of your methods and thoughts. Thanks for letting me view them. Judy

  4. oh anne, keep it up……….